Share this

Teal independents campaigning on a ticket of action on climate change and the introduction of a federal integrity commission have received a huge groundswell of support from Australian voters.

Prior to election night, it was anticipated that the teal independents may snatch one or two seats. So far it appears they may claim as many as five.

Here’s how things are shaping up so far:

Independent candidates Allegra Spender (Wentworth), Zoe Daniel (Goldstein), Kylea Tink (North Sydney), Sophie Scamps (Mackellar) and Kate Chaney (Curtin). (Supplied)

KOOYONG (Victoria) – Kooyong is currently held by Treasurer Josh Frydenberg and has largely been considered a safe Liberal seat. Frydenberg is in danger of losing his seat to teal independent Dr Monique Ryan. 

After 27 per cent of votes counted, teal independent Monique Ryan leads. She has produced a huge 52.05 per cent swing against Frydenberg.

WENTWORTH (NSW) – Wentworth takes in some of the most exclusive suburbs around Sydney Harbour, and is held by Liberal MP Dave Sharma. Teal independent Allegra Spender will be closely contesting this seat (which is well known for producing former PM Malcolm Turnbull).

After 22 per cent of votes counted, it is highly likely that Allegra Spender has claimed the seat of Wentworth.

Early votes from Wentworth. (Nine)

GOLDSTEIN (Victoria) – Currently held by Liberal MP Tim Wilson. Once thought to be a very safe seat, Goldstein is being contested by teal independent Zoe Daniel.

After 23 per cent of the vote counted, independent Zoe Daniel is leading by a clear majority.

NORTH SYDNEY (NSW) – Currently held by Liberal MP Trent Zimmerman as a safe Liberal seat. North Sydney is being contested by teal independent Kylea Tink.

After 25 per cent of votes counted, it is highly likely that Kylea Tink has claimed this seat.

Sophie Scamps has produced a huge swing against incumbent Jason Falinski. (Nine)

MACKELLAR (NSW) – Considered to be a “very safe” Liberal seat held by Jason Falinski since 2016. Mackellar is being contested by Sophie Scamps, who has anecdotally amassed strong community support on the issue of climate change.

After more than 33 per cent of votes counted, it is now highly likely that independent Sophie Scamps has claimed this seat.

Teal candidates are community-sourced independent candidates who share the same pool of backers, most notably the political fundraising firm Climate200.

They are not a political party, but share two key policies: the intention to legislate a federal integrity commission, and concrete action on climate change.

Liberal and Labor HQs tell two different stories

Share this
You May Also Like

Record number of officers leaving Western Australia Police Force

A record number of Western Australian officers are leaving the police force,…

Thousands descend on Sydney, Melbourne in protest of US abortion ruling

Tens of thousands of people have descended on major cities across Australia…

Jockey Leah Kilner fighting for life after fall

A promising Brisbane jockey is fighting for life after falling off a…

Horror crash kills jet truck pilot as crowds watch US airshow

An airshow celebrating the 75th anniversary of the US Air Force has…

Surprise witness at Chris Dawson trial claims he saw Lynette alive in 1982

In a strange twist in the Chris Dawson murder trial, a man…

Anthony Albanese makes historic visit to war-torn Ukraine

Anthony Albanese has visited war-torn Ukraine, in a show of support for…

Hoax rescue call slammed as SES battle flood crisis

The NSW State Emergency Service had to divert crucial resources to answer…

Copenhagen shopping mall shooting: Several dead, suspect arrested

A shooting at a mall in the Danish capital Copenhagen has left…