How to read Instagram DMs WITHOUT being seen or 'opening' them
Share this @internewscast.com


READING Instagram messages without being “seen” is handy – and very easy.

We reveal a handy method of checking Instagram DMs without having “opened” them in the eyes of the sender.

Instagram has a new feature that lets you silently read DMs

1

Instagram has a new feature that lets you silently read DMsCredit: Getty – Contributor

How can you read DMs without being seen?

The simplest way to read a direct message on Instagram without being seen is to view the message from the notification on your home screen.

If the message is too long to view the message in its entirety and only gives you a preview, you can hold the notification and drag it down, which will expand the message without clicking into the app.

It’s important to hold the button carefully otherwise you could accidentally click into the app, prompting the sender to see you have read the message.

For an Android phone, you won’t be able to use the drag method but can instead click the down arrow to the right of the message.

Mystery as Love Island bombshell skips reunion and disappears from Instagram
TikTok star Addison Rae deletes 'blasphemous' bikini pic after fan backlash

Is there a restricted option on Instagram?

Another option is to restrict a user via Instagram’s app settings.

By selecting this feature, the person’s new messages will be sent to a second tab that will allow you to view them without the individual knowing.

When you are ready to respond, you will have to allow or approve the message, in which case then the sender will see that you have read the message.

You also won’t receive any notifications from the restricted individual.

Most read in Phones & Gadgets

That’s because this feature is designed to tackle bullying or harassment.

However, it’s also useful for Instagram sleuths who want to read messages in stealth mode.

How to Restrict someone on Instagram

To restrict someone through direct messages, go to their profile and select the three dots that are located in the top right-hand corner of your screen.

There will be a popup menu with Restrict, Block, and Report listed in red.

You will need to click on the restrict button and then confirm the decision.

After this is done, any future messages will go to the restricted inbox – the sender will not be notified that they have been restricted.

 

 


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]




Share this @internewscast.com
You May Also Like

Pokémon’s newest gym leader has a surprising secret

NINTENDO recently hosted a twenty-minute Pokémon Presents revealing the newest gym leader…

How to watch Pokemon Presents August 2022

NINTENDO announced a new Pokémon Presents coming today.  Here is how to…

Passkeys were never an Apple-only word, but the confusion is understandable

When Apple introduced passkeys, its implementation of FIDO Alliance’s password-less secure authentication…

Netflix WARNING – 4 red flags indicate that freeloaders have hacked your account

IF YOU’VE ever shared your Netflix password with someone it’s worth keeping…

Virgin Media giving away a FREE TV worth £479.99 with these broadband bundles

CUSTOMERS joining Virgin Media are in for a treat when shopping for…

Google sues Sonos over smart speaker and voice control tech

Google is striking back at Sonos with a pair of lawsuits alleging…

Crypto tycoon vows to give away his $20BILLION fortune – and now drives a Toyota Corolla

AN American crypto tycoon has pledged to empty his pockets for a…

Warning for MILLIONS of Facebook users – there’s a hidden danger you must avoid

MILLIONS of Facebook users are at risk of attack through adware apps,…