Millions of iPhone owners urged to check settings – it's dangerous not to


EVERY iPhone owner should check an important feature that can help to keep you safe.

It’s appropriately named Safety Check – and can stop snoopers from spying on you.

Your iPhone has an important feature that you should check today

1

Your iPhone has an important feature that you should check todayCredit: Apple

The feature is brand new in iOS 16, and is designed to let you see who your info is being shared with.

If you’ve had an iPhone for a few years, it’s very possible that you’ve shared private content with others.

This might be your location or a photo album, which may have felt fine at the time – but no longer does.

For instance, you may have an abusive ex that could be watching what you do online.

People are just realising how to unlock supermarket trolley without £1 coin
Mike Tindall reveals secrets of staying over at the Palace on I'm A Celeb

Or a sneaky online crook may have found their way into your iPhone.

Whatever the case, Safety Check can put a stop to dangerous snooping.

“If your personal safety is at risk, you can use Safety Check on iPhone (using iOS 16 or later) to quickly stop sharing your information or to review and update sharing with individual people and apps,” Apple explained.

“When using Safety Check, keep in mind that people may notice if you stop sharing your information with them. When you end sharing relationships, you may lose access to data such as shared photos and notes.”

To find Safety Check, first make sure you’re signed on to your Apple ID with two-factor authentication on an iPhone.

Once you’re signed in, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Safety Check.

According to Apple, you can use Safety Check to:

  • Review and remove devices signed in to your account
  • Review and update trusted phone numbers
  • Change your Apple ID password
  • Update your emergency contacts
  • Update your device passcode and your Face ID or Touch ID information

There’s also an option called Emergency Reset.

This immediately stops sharing any of the items on the list above.

“Familiarise yourself with the “Safety Check” feature in iOS 16,” cyber-expert Chris Hauk told The Sun.

“Safety Check allows users to review and reset the access they’ve granted to other users,” said Hauk, a Consumer Privacy Advocate at Pixel Privacy.

“Here, they can reset privacy permissions for apps and can restrict Messages and FaceTime to their device.

“This feature can be particularly handy for victims of domestic abuse.”

People are just noticing four mind-blowing iPhone secrets
Millions of iPhone owners warned to check three settings right now

Safety Check will examine a whole range of commonly shared apps.

This includes Health, Home, Calendar, Find My locations, Notes and Photos.

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk




You May Also Like

The tunes may be good but AI bots are laundering music

WE have known that artificial intelligence (AI) would leave no industry unscathed…

Inside Elon Musk’s space rescue pod that could help Nasa with critical emergencies

A mini-rocket built by Elon Musk could be used to save astronauts…

Samsung SmartThings Station review: a great smart home hub if you live in Samsung’s galaxy

I am a fan of multipurpose smart home hubs. No one has…

Apple could introduce a pricier iPhone ‘Ultra’ in 2024

Apple’s exploring the possibility of launching a more expensive iPhone “Ultra” above…

Inside the wild world of AR and why it trounces VR

MOVE over VR – AR is the one to watch. AR –…

iPhone users are just noticing they’ve been using popular app completely wrong – there’s a much easier way

YOU’VE been wasting your time in one of the iPhone’s most used…

Five jobs at risk of vanishing with ‘humans replaced by AI bots’ – could your profession be at risk?

ARTIFICAL intelligence bots are sparking fears that millions of Brits could lose…

Clever iPhone setting will have everyone stunned at how it makes your phone look

A SIMPLE iPhone hack will make you the envy of all your…

Urgent warning to delete TikTok off your phone NOW over fears of ‘hostile’ Chinese threats

CHINA is using TikTok to spy on us and Brits should delete…

Elon Musk says bots with ‘good content’ can use Twitter’s API for free

Elon Musk says Twitter will let bots providing “good content” access the…

Deepfake AI generated fake people ‘more trustworthy’ than real humans as world facing new tech arms race, warns experts

NONE of the people in the picture at the top of this…

The creepiest humanoid robots set to enter your life — including Tesla Bot that wants to be your friend

SOME of the most unsettling AI robots are making their way from…