Walmart and Target threaten shoppers with $2,500 fines

Consumers could be hit with fines of up to $2,500 for taking a shopping cart off the property at major retailers like Target and Walmart.

Roughly two million carts vanish from stores each year — costing companies an estimated $175 million annually to replace 

Various states across the US have introduced and approved legislation aimed at tackling this issue, along with strategies to prevent shopping carts from being taken off the property.

The issue isn’t new, but it’s getting more attention as retailers escalate their fight against rising shoplifting and in-store losses. 

As Rite Aid faces the challenge of weathering its second bankruptcy, the chain started implementing locked display cases across the country following the pandemic. Meanwhile, consumers have been searching for methods to unlock these cases themselves.

Retailers have also adopted other theft prevention techniques, such as using concealed barcodes on items and deploying cutting-edge technology like Walmart’s robotic security guards patrolling parking lots.

One of the biggest changes retailers are making to prevent thefts is axing self-checkouts. Dollar Tree removed machines from 12,000 stores, and found themselves experiencing an 8 percent sales boost.

With retailers doing everything they can to prevent shoplifting, these are some of the states that don’t tolerate shopping cart disappearances.

About two million carts disappear from retailers every year, costing them around $175 million annually

About two million carts disappear from retailers every year, costing them around $175 million annually

Arizona

Arizona residents are at risk of civil lawsuits if they steal a shopping cart from a retailer.

Each thief could receive a fine of up to $250, depending on the cart’s worth, and first-time offenders could also face criminal charges.

Shoppers who are charged with theft may also be required to pay an additional fee of up to $500.

It’s unclear how often Arizona residents steal shopping carts, but the city of Phoenix is on the verge of requiring retailers to install locking wheels or GPS devices on them as a way to lower the chances of them going missing. 

California

Select California stores have been enforced to impose prevention plans to decrease the chance of cart thefts

Select California stores have been enforced to impose prevention plans to decrease the chance of cart thefts

Shoppers in California who steal a cart ‘with the intent to temporarily or permanently deprive the owner or retailer of possession‘ will charged with a misdemeanor.

Fines for this charge can be up to $1,000, and some thieves could even be sentenced to six months in jail.

Shopping cart theft is growing in the Golden State, and San Jose even began enforcing a rule last month requiring large retailers with over 76 carts to invest in prevention plans.

San Jose Mayor Matt Mahan revealed these plans include locks, deposit systems, and retrieval services that can all serve as ‘better security’ in parking lots.

Florida

Customers in Florida can be charged with a misdemeanor and receive a $100 civil fine if they steal a shopping cart from a retailer’s parking lot.

However, the price could grow depending on how long the individual has the cart in their possession.

This law is also enforced on residents looking to steal a retailer’s laundry carts, or  altering or obliterating any identifying marks or serial numbers.

Thieves who receive severe penalties for the offenses could expect a fine of up to $1,000 or more and a possible year-long jail sentence. 

Hawaii

Shoppers in Hawaii who swipe a store’s carts and abandon them in public places could receive up to a $500 fine and 30 days in jail.

Honolulu got the ball rolling on passing the bill to make cart stealing illegal in 2023 after approximately 4,823 of them were stolen the year before.

‘This is clearly intended for the homeless and I’m surprised the ACLU (American Civil Liberties Union) isn’t here,’ public testifier Natalie Iwasa said in a 2023 meeting via Island News.

Illinois

Illinois offers the highest shopping cart steeling fine at $2,500

Illinois offers the highest shopping cart steeling fine at $2,500

Thieves who are caught stealing shopping carts could receive a fine of up to $2,500 depending on the price of the cart and prior criminal records.

However, if the theft were to occur in Chicago, shoppers would typically only face a $200 fine.

If the stealer were to be charged with a misdemeanor over the theft in Illinois, they could also be sentenced to one year in jail. 

Nevada

Shopping cart thefts in Nevada are classified as misdemeanors, as the items typically cost less than $1,200.

This action is considered to be petty larceny, which can result in a $1,000 fine or up to six months in jail.

The costs would be applied to each cart that’s stolen by the shopper. 

New York

Shoppers in New York could receive a $100 civil fine if they snag a store’s shopping cart without consent.

Depending on how extensive the theft is, the culprits could be charged with a misdemeanor.

If that is the case, the thieves could receive a fine of up to $1,000 per cart and up to a year in jail.

The cost of the stolen property is a prime factor in how much money or jail time the stealer could potentially receive. 

Texas

If cart stealers were to be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, they may be required to pay up to a $2,000 fine

If cart stealers were to be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, they may be required to pay up to a $2,000 fine

Any shopping cart theft is considered to be a Class C misdemeanor, meaning the fine won’t be too severe.

The shoppers who commit this crime will usually be fined up to $500.

However, if the thief were to have other offenses on their record, it could raise the penalty from Class C to Class B.

This change would hike the fine up to $2,000 at most, a 180 day jail sentence, or both. 

Washington

Many cities in Washington state impose a $50 fine to anyone who removes a shopping cart without store permission.

A few places can also charge an additional $50 on impound fees.

In some cases, thieves could be charged with a misdemeanor, and potentially spend up to 90 days in jail and pay a $1,000 fine at most. 

You May Also Like

Police Forced to Explain Why Home Invasion Suspect Walked Free

Toronto police are facing questions over why a suspected home invader was…

Trump DOJ Faces Judge in Fight Over Noncitizen Voting Rules

The Justice Department is defying a court-ordered deadline to provide a list…

Residents Say Migrants and Drug Users Make Car Park No-Go Zone

A group of homeless migrants and people struggling with drug addiction have…

Marsha Mason’s Former California Ranch Listed for $13.5 Million

The historic New Mexico estate once owned by Hollywood actress Marsha Mason…

Andrew Shue, Marilee Fiebig Marry After T.J. Holmes, Amy Robach

Marilee Fiebig and Andrew Shue have married at their picturesque New Jersey…

Experts Say Cilantro May Help Lower Blood Sugar Naturally

Few ingredients divide opinion quite like cilantro. The vivid green herb brings…

Powerful Southwest Storm Forces Evacuations as Flooding Spreads

Torrential rain triggered flash floods and mandatory evacuations across a broad stretch…

Influencer Liam Fitzgerald Dies at 29 After Motorcycle Crash

Liam Fitzgerald, a social media influencer known for sharing fitness and self-improvement…

UK Prime Minister Faces Labour Calls for Slavery Reparations After Apology Offer

Andy Burnham is under mounting pressure from Labour figures to go further…

Florida Residents Describe ‘Super Big Explosion’ After Jet Crash

A Florida family said their apartment began “shaking” when a business jet…

Retiree Who Endured 18% Mortgage Rates Says Today’s Young Homebuyers Are Spoilt

A 79-year-old Baby Boomer has sparked a debate over home ownership after…

Nassau Executive Blakeman Joins Queens Democrat Against Hochul Gas Ban

Hochul faces backlash over gas stove ban and its impact on wok…